Changing Perspective

Standard

We are back! WOVEN has been on a short hiatus; however, we are looking forward to
providing more blogs
.

Changing  Perspective..

Last week I received an email from a friend with news about a new book that will come out later this year about the decline of African-American marriage. This particular study examines the decline of marriage among the African-American middle class. My reactions to this particular book started out with intrigue, then annoyance, which lead to
frustration, then to anger! The mood change from intrigue to anger occurred
after reading this phrase “one reason that marriage has declined is that black
women have advanced economically and educationally, men have fallen behind. The
shortage of successful black men not only leaves black women unmarried, it
renders them more likely than other women to marry less educated and lower
earning men.” WHAT!!! I quickly called one of my friends and fellow WOVEN
blogger to discuss, process, share thoughts and opinions, roll eyes, laugh, and
shake our heads about more “good news” for the ongoing reasons for why African-American women who are single are not married.

After our little phone debrief, I stepped back from reading all of the summaries on this book, took a few breaths, and started to remember who has the real control.  I had
to think about what really triggered my reaction of annoyance, and frustration
with these statistics not only about African-American women, but also African-American
men.  My conclusion centers on the sense of hopelessness that arose in my heart about the issue of marriage. To be fair, I have to read the book to give a true opinion, however, the statistics presented are not new and often appear in articles, documentaries, and news
programs periodically.

A few more deep breaths and a long sip of chai tea latte, the fog of doubt, disappointment, and hopelessness started to clear when I remembered a key verse, Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I am so thankful that statistics or trends do not determine the course of my life! For all of my beautiful brothers and sisters who are waiting on the Lord, keep looking to Him.

~Valencia

~Contributing Blog Author

~WOVEN

About 4woven

*The writer’s of this blog are two friends who love the Lord and have a heart for encouraging, uplifting, and supporting women in their walk with the Lord. We will also feature guests “bloggers” who have the same heart for encouraging women.

2 responses »

  1. Yea, your back!

    Interesting post. Seems like I’ve read or heard a lot over the past few months of how marriage across America is on the decline. Little agreement on the cause. Arguably marriage has become the latest casualty of the seclarization of the nation.

    Love the verse from Jeremiah.

Leave a Reply

