Masterpiece Me

Standard

This week we have a guest blogger for WOVEN, please welcome, Jo Rozier. Enjoy!

 


 

 

 

There is a Mother’s Day Facebook status going around that I readily identify with:

 
 

“I am a parent, cook, housekeeper, teacher, nurse, maid, security, coordinator, supervisor, manager, secretary, nutritionist, caretaker, personal assistant, life coach, laundry maid, taxi driver and a motivational speaker. I don’t get holiday pay, sick pay, or days off. I am on call 24/7. Now, tell me YOUR job is harder than mine. Post this if you are a MOM!!” 

 
 

I’m a guy but I may post it for myself.  That’s how I often see myself, this juggler of tasks, a ringmaster in a thousand ring circus. Recently however I was challenged with a new idea.  Jo Rozier Masterpiece. 

 
 

Problem is a masterpiece seems to imply perfection and I don’t look back over the past three years and think perfection.  While I readily acknowledged Father’s hand in my life and depended upon Him to sustain and guide my kids and I, when I think of my wife’s death, my dog’s death, my children’s grief, life as a single parent, my parent’s dementia, if I were a painting I’d say I am riped in half and the colors were running together; if a sculpure then I am teetering on one leg.  Perfection or masterpiece just never came to mind. 

 
 

Then I read Eph 2:10:  “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” (NLT)

 
 

Masterpiece…created…to do good things he planned for us long ago…  Father isn’t just making due with me, despite my flaws and limitations.  I’m not damaged goods.  I’m the handiwork of The Master and He has good things planned for me.   

 
 

Something I heard long ago, the value of a painting doesn’t come from the perfection of the art, it comes from the hand of the master who paints it. 

 
 

So…when you look in the mirror, what do you see?

 
 

 
 

Jo Rozier


 

About 4woven

*The writer’s of this blog are two friends who love the Lord and have a heart for encouraging, uplifting, and supporting women in their walk with the Lord. We will also feature guests “bloggers” who have the same heart for encouraging women.

Leave a Reply

