“Pruning”

Standard

P-09-08-Pruning-Daylilies-HD

Last week I had the unique opportunity to volunteer at the Ronald McDonald House. The assignment: gardening! Now, I am not a gardener, nor have I ever worked with any real gardening tools besides a lawnmower. The gardening involved pruning Daylily bushes. Now, to take care of the Daylilies’, the process requires trimming away any browned and dead portions of the perennials. In addition, pruning requires the gardener to leave about four inches of healthy stem to grow during the spring. When I first looked at the Daylilies, I did not understand the big deal about pruning and did not think it would make much of a difference, but I started the process. I really enjoyed the process of working in this beautiful garden. During my pruning activity, I started to think about my own life and reflect on the parts of my life that have needed pruning over the years and continue to need pruning. During different seasons of my life, God has trimmed away the unhealthy stems in my life and cut them down to the core. After the pruning, the restoration process begins and then He restores what has been destroyed during different seasons of my life. My question to you …. What is God pruning in your life right now?

Blessings

Valencia
Contributing Blog Author
WOVEN

About 4woven

*The writer’s of this blog are two friends who love the Lord and have a heart for encouraging, uplifting, and supporting women in their walk with the Lord. We will also feature guests “bloggers” who have the same heart for encouraging women.

3 responses »

  1. It’s clearly a winter season in my life… everything has been cut back and what little remains above the surface is questionable. There was no discussion as to whether or not a branch was healthy. The master gardener knew exactly what needed to be pruned, how far to cut back each branch, and how often.

  2. My chainsaw usually stays in the toolbox. The main pruning tools for my use in the landscape are the Corona / Felco handpruner secateurs that have lasted from 1985, and a Silky Zubat handsaw. Those are two of the best pruning tools available.

    Rarely is a lopper needed, and the pruning is streamlined due to the quality and sharpness. I use loppers at ground level for suckers. And a mini-lopper from Felco for apple watersprouts in the winter to easy my hands.

    It shows that the right tools ease burdens. Reminds me of a verse about if an edge be blunt, more effort must be put forth. Or that one friend can sharpen another friend.

    MDV / Oregon

    • Thank you so much for you reply. I really appreciate your comment about the “right tools ease burdens.” The concept of pruning has so many relevant life applications I could write about this for months. Thank you again for your wonderful insight! Keep visiting!
      Blessings,
      Valencia
      WOVEN

Leave a Reply

