The Language of Respect

Standard

 

Recently I had the opportunity to attend an excellent bible study on the book of Ephesians. The class I attended last week focused on life application of Ephesians 4. The teacher shared a quote from a well-known theologian, Dallas Willard. Willard suggests that people watch our actions to see what we believe. I have been thinking about that statement off and on for about 2 weeks. I wonder do my actions project what I believe as far as my faith and daily walk with the Lord. When I think about my actions, I also think about my language and how I convey or do not convey respect for others. I want my language to convey care and concern for others, not destruction, negativity, or criticism. Ephesians 4:29 talks about the dangers of unwholesome talk and the importance of building others up according to their needs. One area of personal conviction includes how I talk about men. I realized this summer that my language and the words I use to describe certain situations might not be as wholesome and edifying as Christ requires therefore I need to work on changing my language so that it is respectful and encouraging. Therefore, let us be careful about our language and make sure that it is the language of respect, care, and concern for each other.

Ephesians 4:29 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

 

~Valencia~

Contributing Blogger

WOVEN

About 4woven

*The writer’s of this blog are two friends who love the Lord and have a heart for encouraging, uplifting, and supporting women in their walk with the Lord. We will also feature guests “bloggers” who have the same heart for encouraging women.

One response »

  1. V. Excellent point!! I do believe that we often get ourselves pulled (sometimes willingly) into the throws of negativity. I find this especially easy at work. I have a colleague that is negative about everything. I have been praying about how to keep her from sabotaging my thoughts. I have to be mindful about how I respond to situations that occur throughout the day and respond in a way that would be pleasing to God.

    Lord, help me please!!

Leave a Reply

